i4connected Knowledgebase 5.6

Managing i4connected tiles

Abstract

Learn how to manage the i4connected tiles and learn more details about the importance of roles assignments for these entities.

The i4connected pages are populated by tiles that open panels and drill-downs allowing the users to define structural entities and consequently analysis and monitor their data. As described under the Tile management article visibility of tiles is influenced by thier assigned roles.

The following tutorials will guide through the most commonly met use-cases concerning tiles management.

Copying a tile from one page to another
  1. Click on the Edit tiles button located in the global menu bar.

    Edit_tile_button.jpg
  2. Click on the pen symbol in order to open the selected tile in edit mode.

    Click_to_edit.jpg
  3. In the Edit tile panel click on the Copy tile toolbar button.

    Copy_tile_button.jpg
  4. In the Copy tile panel proceed with the following settings:

    Copy_tile_panel.jpg
    1. Select the tile Destination page from the Page list panel.

    2. Select the Roles of the tile applied in context of the destination page, from the Select roles panel.

  5. Click the Copy button of the Copy tile panel.

  6. Open the selected destination page. The copied tile is available.

    Tile_is_available.jpg
Sharing a tile with all users

Users having the Manage shared tiles permission enabled can pin a new tile or edit an existing one, deciding to shared it will other system users. In order to share a tile with all the system users, please organise the following steps:

  1. Open a tile in edit mode.

    Tile_opened_in_edit_mode.jpg
  2. In the Edit tile panel proceed with the following settings:

    1. Make sure that the Tile type is set to Shared.

    2. Change the tile Roles and make sure to add a Front-end role type. This way, all the system users will be granted with access to this tile.

    3. Optionally, you can update the tile characteristics (title, sub-title, size, url) or the tile parameters.

  3. Click the Save button of the Edit tile panel.

  4. Login with a limited rights user. Under the destination page, the tile is now visible.

Sharing a tile only with specific users

In case a tile should be placed on a page which is accessible to multiple users, the system administrator user can decide to show this tile only to users with specific right, as follows:

  1. Open a tile in edit mode.

    Tile_opened_in_edit_mode.jpg
  2. In the Edit tile panel proceed with the following settings:

    1. Make sure that the Tile type is set to Shared.

    2. Change the tile Roles and make sure to add the desired specific role. This way, only the users having the respective role assigned will be able to see the tile.

    3. Optionally, you can update the tile characteristics (title, sub-title, size, url) or the tile parameters.

  3. Click the Save button of the Edit tile panel.

  4. Login with a limited rights user. Under the destination page, the tile is not visible.

  5. Login with a user having the specific role assigned. Under the same destination page, the tile is visible.

Setting a tile to private use

Users having the Manage personal tiles permission enabled can create tiles and set them as personal use only. In order to create such a new tile, please follow the below described steps:

  1. Click on the Pin tiles button located in the global menu bar.

    Pin_tiles.jpg
  2. In the Add tile panel proceed with the following settings:

    Add_tile_panel.jpg
    1. Type in the tile Title.

    2. Type in the tile Sub-Title.

    3. Type in the tile Url.

    4. Select the Tile size and the Panel size.

    5. Select the tile Open mode.

    6. Set the tile to Enabled.

    7. Select the tile CSS Class.

  3. Click the Add tile Save button.

  4. The new created tile is now available under the page where it was added.

  5. Login as any other user than the tile creator and check for the tile visibility. The tile will be visible for its creator only, regardless of how powerful another user is.