i4connected Knowledgebase 5.6

Setting up default page panels

Abstract

Check out this article and learn more details about the Panel pinning function and the permissions needed to be allowed to use it.

The Panel pinning function allows the i4connected users with possibility to set up personal or shared panels, that are persisted on a page until they are manually closed.

Based on their permissions, users can pin personal or shared panels, by clicking the Make default panel button, located in the toolbar of panel headers.

Make_default_panel.jpg

The Make default panel button

Tip

Each page has a limit of two default pinned panels: one sharedpanel and one personal panel.

The Make default panel button will be available only for users having at least the Manage personal panels permission enabled. By clicking it, the Make default panel dashboard is opened.

In this view, the user can select the Panel size choosing from the provided options, starting with the smallest value of xs (extra small) and ending with the highest 6xlg (6 times large).

Make_default_panel_panel.jpg

The Make default personal panel view

Upon saving the selected panel as default, a toast message is displayed at the bottom of the screen confirming the save operation.

Toast_for_pinned.jpg

Toast message

The pinned panel will be maintained on the current page, being visible only for the creator user. Hence, if the user switches to another project page or logs out of the system, when returning on the page, the pinned panel will be available there, by default.

Important

If a personal panel was already pinned to a page, the user cannot add a second one. On attempt, the second panel will replace the first panel.

Default_personal_panel.jpg

Example of a pinned personal panel

Having the Manage personal panels permission enabled, the users can manually close the personal pinned panel, by clicking the Remove default panel button, available in the pinned panel header.

Remove_default_personal_panel.jpg

The Remove default panel button

When removing a personal default panel, a toast message is displayed at the bottom of the screen confirming the operation.

Toast_remove_panel.jpg

Toast message

Users having the Manage shared panels permission enabled are allowed to pin both personal and shared panels. When pinning a shared panel, the user is provided with the following settings:

Make_default_shared_panel.jpg

The Make default shared panel view

  • Panel type - sets the type of the panel to either personal or shared.

    Note

    If the user has the Manage shared panels permission enabled can pin both personal and shared panel.

  • Show Panel Chrome - enables or disables the visibility of the panel header.

    • Yes - if the toggle button is set to Yes, the header of the panel will be visible to all users. However, depending on their rights, the header Remove default panel button can be visible or not.

      Panel_with_header.jpg

      Example of a shared panel with visible chrome (header)

    • No - if the toggle button is set to No, the header of the panel will not be visible.

      Panel_with_no_chrome.jpg

      Example of a shared panel without chrome (header)

  • Panel size- sets the size of the panel, allowing the user to choose from the provided options, starting with the smallest value of xs (extra small) and ending with the highest 6xlg (6 times large).

After pinning a shared panel, a toast message is displayed at the bottom of the screen confirming the save operation.

Toast_for_pinned.jpg

Toast message

Important

If a shared panel was already pinned to a page, the same user or another one will not be allowed to pin a second shared panel. On attempt, the second panel will overwrite the first panel.

Shared panels can only be removed by users having the Close shared panels permission enabled, regardless if they were the creators of the panel, or not.

The Remove default panel button is available in the header of all shared panels.

Remove_shared_panel.jpg

The Remove default shared panel button

Warning

Users having the Close shared panels permission enabled will always see the Panel Chrome, regardless if the creator user has set the Chrome visibility to Yes or No.

After removing a shared panel, a toast message is displayed at the bottom of the page, confirming the operation.

Toast_remove_panel.jpg

Toast message