i4connected Knowledgebase 5.6

Synchronizing Devices

Abstract

Check out this article and learn more details about the i4connected Devices synchronization function and how it works.

Users having the Manage applications permission enabled, can synchronize i4connected Devices, to an i4designer project, using the Synchronize Devices toolbar button.

SyncDevices_button.jpg

The Synchronize Devices button

Clicking this button opens the Synchronize Devices panel. On the first use, the list of Devices is, by default, empty.

To add items to the list, the user can click the Add toolbar button. Devices can be selected for synchronization, from the Select Devices panel.

AddDevices.jpg

The Select Devices panel

The Select Devices panel lists all the Devices available for the currently logged-in user. To aid users with pinpointing the Devices to be synchronized with an i4designer project, the list features a simple filtering mechanism.

In this view, the user can either individually select some of the listed Devices, or click the Select All toolbar button, to apply the selection to the entire list.

Select_All_Devices.jpg

The Select all button

After selecting the desired Devices, the user needs to click the Select button, located at the bottom left side of the Select Devices panel, to add the entities to the Synchronize Devices panel.

SelectDevices.jpg

Select Devices for synchronization

Warning

By clicking the Refresh button in the toolbar of the Select Devices panel will remove all your selections, without further notice.

RefreshDevices.jpg

The Refresh button

Once the Synchronize Devices panel is populated with the selected entities, the listed Devices will be accompanied by the Not synchronized icon To_be_synchronized.jpg, until the user clicks the Synchronize Devices toolbar button.

UnSynchedDevices.jpg

The Synchronize Devices list

Clicking the Synchronize Devices button parses the list of Devices to the associated i4designer project. Upon a successful synchronization, the To_be_synchronized.jpg icon is removed and a toast confirmation message is displayed.

SynchedDevices.jpg

The "Devices synchronized" toast message

Synchronized and unsynchronized Devices can be removed from the list, as follows:

  • by individually clicking the Delete button of all the Devices that need to be removed.

    Remove_One_Device.jpg
  • by clicking the Remove all toolbar button, to empty the list.

    RemoveAllDevices.jpg

After removing Devices, the list needs to be resynchronized.

Important

Removing Devices from this view does NOT delete the Device itself.

The Refresh toolbar button can be used, to manually update the list of Devices. However, as earlier indicated, if there are any unsynchronized Devices in the list, these will be removed when using the refresh option.

Further on, users having the Manage Devices permission enabled, can also open the listed Devices in edit mode, in order to process further changes.

EditDevice.jpg

The Edit Devices panel

Tip

For more details about the management of Devices, please also visit the dedicated article, here.

Since the list of Devices considers the security level of the currently logged-in user, some Devices may display the Purged icon Purged_icon.jpg.

The Purged icon marks all the Devices that have been previously synchronized with the i4designer project, but otherwise are not accessible for the currently logged-in user.

Since the user cannot synchronize these Devices, with an i4designer project, the user can click the Remove incorrect Devices toolbar button, in order to clean up the list.

PurgeDevices.jpg

The Remove incorrect Devices button

In case the list contains both incorrect and correct Devices, the user can proceed with the synchronization operation, without being obliged to purge incorrect Areas.

Tip

For more details about the i4designer integration with i4connected, please also visit our online technical documentation, here.