i4designer Knowledgebase

Users Management

Abstract

Are you a system administrator? Check out this article and learn how to manage the system users or how to send invitations to new ones.

The Control Center provides the system administrators with possibility to manage Users and send User invitations, by accessing the left side Users menu entry.

Users_menu.jpg

The Users menu

This menu entry is available only for the users having one of these two roles:

  • Administrator (Independent)

  • Administrator (belonging to an Organization)

  • Organization Administrator

Even though both of the above roles are permitted to access the Users menu, they will be granted with different views, concerning the list of users. While the Administrators have no limited rights and will see the list of all system users, the Organization Administrator will only see the users in own Organization. This restriction is also extended to the users invitations area, hence the Organization Administrator will only be allowed to issue new invitations to users being part of own Organization.

Tip

For more details on user permissions, please also visit the i4designer Security article.

The list of i4designer users display the following columns:

List_of_users.jpg

The list of i4designer users

  • Login column - displays the login username

  • E-mail column - displays the e-mail address of the user

  • First Name column - displays the first name of the user

  • Last Name column - displays the last name of the user

  • Organization column - displays the organization to which the listed user belongs to

  • Active column - displays the active / inactive status of the user

  • Actions column - displays the actions available for the listed user, such as Edit, Delete and Deactivate

The list and the users can be managed by the users with administrative rights, as follows:

Filtering the users list

The Login, E-mail, First Name, Last Name and Organization columns feature a simple search mechanism, allowing the System Administrator to easily filter the list of users.

Tip

By typing in part of the Login, the list is filtered to display only the matching results.

example_of_filter.jpg

Example of filter applied in the Login column

Sorting the users list

Besides the filtering mechanism, the list can also be sorted as follows:

  • Sort alphabetically by Login name

  • Sort alphabetically by E-mail

  • Sort alphabetically by First Name

  • Sort alphabetically by Last Name

  • Sort by Active or Inactive status

Tip

By clicking the pointing down arrow of the Login column, the list is descendingly (Z to A) sorted in alphabetical order. If the pointing up arrow of the Login column is clicked, the list is sorted increasingly (A to Z) in alphabetical order.

Editing users

The details of a User can be updated by clicking the Edit button Edit_User_button.jpg in the Actions column.

Edit_user_button.jpg

The Edit button

In the Edit user panel the following user details can be updated:

  • First name

  • Last name

  • Email address

Edit_user_panel.jpg

The Edit user panel

To proceed and save the changes the Submit button can be clicked. To close the Edit user panel without saving any changes, the Cancel button can be clicked.

Deactivating and Reactivating users

The System Administrators have the authority to deactivate the listed users, by clicking the corresponding button in the Actions column of the User.

Warning

As soon as the Deactivate button is clicked, the action will be performed. A toast message will accompany the successfully performed operation.

Deactivate_user.jpg

Deactivating a user

To reactivate a user, the administrator can click the respective button. Just like the deactivation operation, the reactivation does not require any further confirmation. The toast message accompanying the action will confirm the change.

Reactivate.jpg

Reactivating a user

Deleting users

Redundant users can be removed by a System Administrator, by clicking the Delete button Delete_button.jpg in the Actions column of the user to be removed.

Delete_user_button.jpg

The Delete button

The Delete user panel requires an additional deletion confirmation along with a warning indicating that once a user is removed, the action cannot be undone. To confirm, the Delete user button ca be clicked and to aboard the action, the Cancel button can be clicked.

Delete_user_panel.jpg

The Delete user panel