i4connected Knowledgebase 5.6

Synchronizing Organizational Units

Abstract

Check out this article and learn more details about the i4connected Organizational Units synchronization function and how it works.

Users having the Manage applications permission enabled, can synchronize i4connected Organizational Units, to an i4designer project, using the Synchronize Org Units toolbar button.

SyncOUsButton.jpg

The Synchronize Org Units button

Clicking this button opens the Synchronize Organizational Units panel. On the first use, the list of Organizational Units is, by default, empty.

To add items to the list, the user can click the Add toolbar button. Organizational Units can be selected for synchronization, from the Select Organizational Units panel.

AddOUsButton.jpg

The Select Organizational Units panel

The Select Organizational Units panel lists all the Organizational Units available for the currently logged-in user. To aid users with pinpointing the Organizational Units to be synchronized with an i4designer project, the list features a simple filtering mechanism.

In this view, the user can either individually select some of the listed Organizational Units, or click the Select All toolbar button, to apply the selection to the entire list.

Select_all_OUs.jpg

The Select all button

After selecting the desired Organizational Units, the user needs to click the Select button, located at the bottom left side of the Select Organizational Units panel, to add the entities to the Synchronize Organizational Units panel.

Select_OUs.jpg

Select Organizational Units for synchronization

Warning

By clicking the Refresh button in the toolbar of the Select Organizational Units panel will remove all your selections, without further notice.

Refres_OUs_during_selection.jpg

The Refresh button

Once the Synchronize Organizational Units panel is populated with the selected entities, the listed Organizational Units will be accompanied by the Not synchronized icon To_be_synchronized.jpg, until the user clicks the Synchronize Organizational Units toolbar button.

UnsynchedIOUs.jpg

Organizational Units added to Synchronize Organizational Units list

Important

Unsynchronized Organizational Units will be removed from the list view, if the user does not synchronize the entities, before closing or refreshing the panel

RefreshOrCloseOUs.jpg

Actions that can remove unsynchronized Organizational Units

Clicking the Synchronize Organizational Units button parses the list of Organizational Units to the associated i4designer project. Upon a successful synchronization, the To_be_synchronized.jpg icon is removed and a toast confirmation message is displayed.

SynchedOUs.jpg

The "Organizational Units synchronized" toast message

Synchronized and unsynchronized Organizational Units can be removed from the list, as follows:

  • by individually clicking the Delete button of all the Organizational Units that need to be removed.

    DeleteOneOU.jpg
  • by clicking the Remove all toolbar button, to empty the list.

    RemoveAllOUs.jpg

After removing Organizational Units, the list needs to be resynchronized.

Important

Removing Organizational Units from this view does NOT delete the signal itself.

The Refresh toolbar button can be used, to manually update the list of Organizational Units. However, as earlier indicated, if there are any unsynchronized Organizational Units in the list, these will be removed when using the refresh option.

Further on, users having the Manage Organizational Units permission enabled, can also open the listed Organizational Units in edit mode, in order to process further changes.

EditOU.jpg

The Edit Organizational Unit panel

Tip

For more details about the management of Organizational Units, please also visit the dedicated article, here.

Since the list of Organizational Units considers the security level of the currently logged-in user, some Organizational Units may display the Purged icon Purged_icon.jpg.

The Purged icon marks all the Organizational Units that have been previously synchronized with the i4designer project, but otherwise are not accessible for the currently logged-in user.

Since the user cannot synchronize these Organizational Units, with an i4designer project, the user can click the Remove incorrect Organizational Units toolbar button, in order to clean up the list.

PurgeOUs.jpg

The Remove incorrect Organizational Units button

In case the list contains both incorrect and correct Organizational Units, the user can proceed with the synchronization operation, without being obliged to purge incorrect Organizational Units.

Tip

For more details about the i4designer integration with i4connected, please also visit our online technical documentation, here.