i4connected Knowledgebase

User Roles

Abstract

The User Roles are objects that define user permissions and rights throughout the entire i4connected platform. Check out this article!

The User Roles are objects that define user permissions and rights throughout the entire i4connected platform. Having a high level of customisation, any user rights combination can be achieved using the proper settings.

The Roles panel allows the user to organise the following operations:

Roles_panel.jpg

The Roles panel

Viewing, filtering and refreshing the list of Roles

The Roles panel can be accessed as follows:

  • Using the dedicated tile on the i4connected Admin page all the i4connected Roles are displayed.

    User_role_tile.jpg

    The User role tile

  • Using the tile from the User detailed view mode only the User Roles are displayed.

    User_role_tile.jpg

    The User role tile in the detailed view mode of a User

Clicking on this tile the Roles panel is opened. The user can filter the list of Roles by typing in the name of the desired role. The Reset filter button Reset_filter.jpg clears all the contents in the search field are removes the filter from the list.

Search_by_roles.jpg

The Roles filter

The user is also provided with the possibility to manually reload the list contents, by clicking the Refresh toolbar button.

Refresh_roles.jpg

The Refresh panel

Adding new Roles

The Add button located in the Roles panel opens the Add role panel. In this view the user is requested to fill in the Role name.

Add_role.jpg

The Add Roles panel

To preserve the changes made the user can click the Save button. Otherwise, by clicking the Close button, the Add role panel is closed and no changes are saved.

Even though just the name of the i4connected Roles is set up, the Roles are defined in the database, by the following properties:

  • Name - the Role name

  • ID - the unique identification number that is allocated at save

  • IsLocked - all the default Roles have this property set to true. However, the new Roles will have the property set to false.

Editing Roles

The Edit role panel can be accessed by clicking on a role card listed in the Roles panel. In this view, the user can change the Role name. Changes can be preserved by clicking the Save button.

Edit_roles_panl.jpg

The Edit role panel

Important

Only the unlocked roles can be updated. The locked roles are greyed out and no edit actions can be processed.

role_types.jpg

Locked role vs Unlocked role

Deleting Roles

The unlocked roles can also be removed by clicking the Delete toolbar button, in the Edit role panel. The Delete role panel displays information upon the impact of the removal operation.

Delete_role_panel.jpg

The Delete role panel

Deletion is confirmed by filling in the provided code and clicking the Delete button.